LibGuides: Social Work: Research Articles

Social Work Search in Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many other fields.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Journals and Professional Publications

Academic journal articles are often more current and applicable than information found in books. The library subcribes to MANY more journals than these listed, but these are a few well-known titles. By looking at the table of contents for new issues, you can see progress, changes, and happenings in social work!

Professional, Trade, Industry, Special-Interest Periodicals

The New Social Worker
The social work careers magazine, has been published since 1994. Each issue provides practical articles on social work students, social work ethics, field placement, practice issues, practice specialties, technology in social work, book reviews, and more. The quarterly magazine for social work students, recent graduates, and others interested in the social work profession, was founded by Linda May Grobman, MSW, ACSW, LSW.

Scholarly, Peer-reviewed Journals

Full-text to these journals is available, but may carry a publisher's embargo on the newest content. If an article you would like to read is unavailable, please submit an InterLibrary Loan request.

Social Work
Publishes articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, or provide critical analysis on problems in the profession.
Social Work Research
Publishes articles, review articles and commentary focusing on social work and practice-based research, evaluation and research studies contributing to knowledge about social work issues and problems.
Health and Social Work
Presents articles dealing with all aspects of health of professional concern to social workers, improving social work practice and extending knowledge in the field of health.
Child and Adolescent Social Work Journal
Original articles for clinical social workers. Includes theory, research, and, social policy issues.