Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 112 - Pandemic Research

Tips for Your Research

  1. Create a timeline of your research topic. The Information Age has conditioned us to search using keywords. Many historical documents online are not text-searchable, but are often organized by date. If you know a date range, you can browse documents for relevant information. Here is a basic timeline of the 1918-1919 pandemic to help you get started.
  2. Follow the clues left by others before you and expand on their research. Look at authors' reference lists to discover publications or collections you may not have considered. Check out this digital exhibit by the University of Idaho Library for ideas.
  3. If at first you don't succeed, try again. Not every lead is successful, and you may meet several dead ends during your search. Try thinking about your search in a new way with different keywords. Sometimes broadening or narrowing your original topic opens up more possibilities. Try searching using flu and influenza. The computer doesn't know these two words are equivalents for your search.
  4. Remember you are part of a community. Face to face interaction still works! Consulting your local librarians, meeting with the local historical society, or visiting local museums is a great way to find people who can share their expertise and knowledge.

Regional Historic Newspapers

Search Library of Congress' Chronicling America database: View text-searchable images of select state historic newspapers from 1863-1922.

Click on the "Browse Issue" link on the light blue bar to browse and access full-text by date.

Bonners Ferry Herald. (Bonners Ferry, Idaho) 1904-1922. Weekly.

The Colville Examiner. (Colville, Washington) 1907-1922. Weekly.

The Daily Star Mirror. (Moscow, Idaho) 1911-1923. Daily.

Pullman Herald. (Pullman, Washington) 1888-1922. Semiweekly.

Rathdrum Tribune. (Rathdrum, Idaho) 1903-1920. Weekly newspaper.

Wallace Miner. (Wallace, Idaho) 1907-1920. Weekly newspaper.

Coeur d'Alene Digital Archives (text search not comprehensive)

Coeur d'Alene Press: 1892-1948

Is the issue you want unavailable digitally? Molstead Library has most back issues (1892+) on microfilm at the Library.  Come in and ask a librarian for more information.

Google News Archive (text search not available)

Spokesman Review: June 16, 1889 - December 31, 2007 

Spokane Daily Chronicle: Nov. 12, 1884 - Jan 15, 1982

Lewiston Morning Tribune: Jan 2, 1900 - September 30, 2004

Bonner County Daily Bee (Sandpoint): Access stories from 2004-current.

Bonners Ferry Herald: Access stories from 2006-current.

Coeur d'Alene Press: Access stories from 2003-current.

Priest River Times: Access stories from 2006-current.

Shoshone News-Press (Kellogg): Access stories from 2007-current.

Spokesman Review: Access stories from 1994-current.

Molstead Library Microfilm

Newspapers

Coeur d’Alene, ID

  • The Coeur d’Alene Press v.1 , no. 1 - v. 14 , no. 52 (Feb 20, 1892 - Jan 27, 1906)
  • The Coeur d’Alene Press v. 1 , no. 1 - v. 2 , no. 87 (Aug 6, 1906 - Nov 16, 1907)
  • The Coeur d’Alene Evening Press v. 2 , no. 88 - v. 23 , no. 128 (Nov 18, 1907 - Jan 4, 1929)
  • The Coeur d’Alene Press v. 23 , no. 129 - (Jan 5, 1929 - Current)

Lewiston, ID

  • The Golden Age v. 1 , no. 1 - v. 3 , no. 27 (Aug 2, 1862 - Nov 19, 1864)

Rathdrum/Post Falls, ID

  • The Rathdrum Tribune v. 9 , no. 4 - v. 68 , no. 40 (May 8, 1903 - Feb 28, 1963)
  • The Tribune v. 68 , no. 40 - v. 69 , no. 21 (Mar 7 - Oct 24, 1963)
  • The Post Falls Tribune v. 69 , no. 22 - 29 (Oct 31 - Dec 26 , 1963)

Sandpoint, ID

  • Kootenai County Republican v. 1 , no. 2 - v. 5 , no. 50 (May 26, 1899 - Oct 31, 1903)
  • Northern Idaho News v. 5 , no. 51 - v. 7 , no. 34 (Nov 6, 1903 - June 30, 1905)

Wallace, ID

  • The Idaho Press Jun 25, 1904 - Dec 28, 1911

Books at Molstead Library

Search Multiple Collections With Primo

Browse these shelf sections for books on state history:

  • Idaho: F 741-755
  • Montana: F 726-740
  • Oregon: F 871-885
  • Washington: F 886-900

Magazines and Journals

Idaho Yesterdays: Peer-reviewed journal devoted to history and culture of Idaho and its region.