LibGuides: Nursing: Articles

Recommended Databases

Download/print a blank keyword table here.

NIC Subscription Databases

If articles or content from these databases is not available in full-text, please consider submitting an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request.

Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a key resource to find literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines, including athletic training, dental hygiene, medical/laboratory technology, social service in health care, and speech-language pathology. CINAHL indexes articles from over 2900 journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more. CINAHL with Full Text includes articles from over 610 journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a point-of-care resource for health information. The content is written, reviewed, and updated by expert physicians and includes specific recommendations for patient care. Mobile App access available to students and faculty.

Non-Subscription Databases

If articles or content from these databases is not available in full-text, please consider submitting an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Cochrane Library
Search the Cochrane Library for comprehensive literature reviews that present summary findings of the best studies.