Newspapers - ENGL 102 - Inquiry-Based Research (Williamson)

News Collections

Molstead Library offers online access to hundreds of current and historical newspapers through our database collections. Most are discoverable and searchable through traditional literature databases, but some are standalone. This page provides links to the traditional news databases and instructions for creating accounts to access the standalone products.

Traditional News Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle’s daily news articles, data, and special reports are now available anytime and anywhere to the North Idaho College community. With one login, users can search and read premium content in the office, off campus, or on-the-go.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
NewsBank

NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of state newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Molstead Library's NewsBank subscription now also includes access to the primary source collections Asian Life in America, Black Life in America, and Hispanic Life in America.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text access to The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2002), Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1992), The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 1999), and The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 1999)
Regional Business News
Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

The Wall Street Journal

ACCOUNT CREATION / REGISTRATION

Navigate to North Idaho College's account activation page.
If you're off campus you will be asked to log in through the college's SSO page. Enter your NIC credentials to sign in.
Complete the Create Account form with your information, while indicating your designation as student, staff, or faculty (professor).
You will see a confirmation screen if you have registered successfully. A confirmation email will also be sent to you. NOTE: Some individuals receive the following message after the registration process. It should result in triggering an activation email.

Verify your account by following the directions in the confirmation email.

Enjoy your WSJ.com access! Annually, you will be prompted in mid-September to reverify your account.

Mobile Apps

WSJ Apps are available for iOS and Android to take your subscription with you wherever you are. To download the free apps, visit https://platforms.wsj.com/.

Returning Users

There's no special log in screen once you have activated your account. You can log in right from WSJ.com!

PERSONAL SUBSCRIBERS

If you are currently paying for online access to WSJ and want to take advantage of free access through NIC, call 1-800-JOURNAL (800.568.7625) to cancel your subscription. You will first want to update your WSJ account with an NIC email address. This can also be done over the phone while canceling your subscription and once finished you will follow the registration process above to regain access.