Skip to main content

Business

NIC Programs: Business Administration, Business Education, Accounting Assistant, Administrative Assistant, Business Leadership, Office Technology

Magazines

Flipster : Flipster is a digital magazine service that allows you to stay current on trends in business by reading a selection of magazines from the library's collection on your computer or mobile device and features the following titles; Bloomberg Businessweek, Entrepreneur, Forbes, and Fast Company.

Key Databases: Research & Data

American FactFinder : This resources is the Census Bureau’s primary dissemination tool for many Census Bureau Programs.  The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. By law, no one is permitted to reveal information from these censuses and surveys that could identify any person, household, or business.

Use For: Consumer Research, Market Research


ESRI Tapestry Segmentation : Divides all U.S. residential neighborhoods into 65 segments based on socioeconomic and demographic characteristics which are then grouped in 12 LifeMode Summary Groups describing lifestyle and lifestage and 11 Urbanization Summary Groups describing affluence and population density. Also includes a ZIP Code look-up tool.

ESRI ZIP Code Look-up Tool : Esri Demographics helps you understand the unique characteristics of a population based on a specific zip code.

Use For: Consumer Research, Market Research


Gale's DemographicsNow : This resource is a comprehensive easy-to-use tool that provides demographic data for a specific location. Demographic information includes income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures and more, and is from the U.S.Census Bureau.

Use For: Consumer Research, Market Research


IBIS World : IBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including life cycle analysis, barriers to entry, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share, market characteristics, operating conditions, and more.

Use For: Market Research, Statistical Research


Statista :  This resource is a statistical portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single searchable platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Use For: Market Research, Statistical Research


Vizala : Vizala is free online database that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes data for specific areas of interest.

Use For: Market Research, Statistical Research